Regional Map of Franklin CountyFranklin County is nestled along Highway 220, amid Virginia’s Blue Ridge Mountains. The Town of Rocky Mount, the county seat, rests 20 miles south of Roanoke and 25 miles north of Martinsville.

Franklin County is home to vibrant and fun-filled Smith Mountain Lake that creates the County’s eastern border and pristine, Army Corps of Engineers-owned Philpott Lake bordering the south.  

The City of Lynchburg is 46 miles northeast of town and the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway winds along Franklin County’s western edge.